Elixir of Life

 

14919020_586146621586374_1470254657186512895_o

Tea for Two

Awaiting a turn is
not always easy.
While I hover and
you sip the nectar,

I’ll hum my favorite
tune. Life is full of
surprises. While the
sun shines, I will

allow you to finish
sipping the sweetness.
Rose hips? Orange spice?
What flavor, my love?

Your beauty astounds.
As I inhale your fragrance,
Dazzle me anew. Let me
gaze and calm my soul.

Let me rest here beside
you and receive your
kisses. My elixir of life.
Nothing more do I desire..

14196011_559384814262555_202788612650831350_o

14525130_570443096490060_4833583718192457488_o

 

Some of the beautiful photos are courtesy of my niece Sally who lives in and blogs from Costa Rica. You can read her blog at this address:  http://rosedevi.blogspot.com/

This entry was posted in elixir of life, love, nature, peaceful beauty, tea for two and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Elixir of Life

  1. Arno Bode,cologne ,Germany says:

    Liebe Mary Ann,
    eine brilliante Veröffentlichung mit einmaligen Fotos exotischer Motive.Es begeistert einfach Deine
    Veröffentlichungen zu lesen.
    Liebe Grüße
    Dein Arno

    Liked by 2 people

    • Your kind words and thoughts are valued. Thank you as I continue my career writing more poetry these days. OIKOS Redaktion in Germany has reblogged two of my latest blog posts. I am glad to have the exposure.
      Greetings to you and your family! ^__^

      Like

  2. Bun Karyudo says:

    That’s a sweet poem. It’s as though the little bug is waiting its turn at an insect filling station.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lovely piece of poetry x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Annika Perry says:

    Mary Ann, this is truly beautiful, full of serenity, peace, calm. The blogging world is quite astonishing with its variety and just listened to a very good but loud slam poem so lovely to land on your post here – just the soothing calm of nature I needed! 😀 you have a real gift for poetry and always enjoy reading them. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is so kind of you to mention my gift of poetry. When I feel I am too verbose (the teacher in me), I switch gears and go back to what I love: simple poetry. Playing with words and images, I even hear music when I am done. It is all intertwined. We are currently viewing a public broadcast called The Crown about Queen Elizabeth II. Last night was cast in 1952 with smog so thick, it was days before the sun shone again. I think of you in the damp cold and sometimes foggy UK. Sometime I would love to return. I do so enjoy your photos from Sweden and your writing. Remember me when you are rich and famous! Happy blogging! ^__^

      Liked by 2 people

      • Annika Perry says:

        Ahh…you have me giggling now…me famous & rich!!! I will remember you whatever my circumstances, Mary Ann! 😀 My husband and I have just started watching ‘The Crown’ as well on Netflix and love it. Although he grew up later than that earlier era he keeps referring to the smog and referencing all the old cars! It is so atmospheric and for once a show that dares to go slloooowwww. Wonderful and addictive – hope to squeeze another episode in tonight! No fog here today, bright crisp sunshine – glorious.

        Liked by 2 people

      • A good laugh is a great dose of medicine. I’m happy you got my drift about rich and famous. I’ll be careful not to mention which episode of The Crown I am watching so as not to spoil. We loved the entire series of Downtown Abbey as well. Similar weather to yours here. Voted at 6 AM and will take a short nap soon. In addition to the old cars, I love the clothes, shoes and hair styles as well. Happy blogging to you! ^__^

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Peter Klopp says:

    When I read poetry, I look for meaning condensed (Dichtung) in the verses. Melodious words are not enough. Your poem is refreshingly different. I like the title (Tea for Two) with the hidden message of the importance of connecting, showing patience and sharing. I also liked the metaphor of the humming birds and of course your niece’s superb photography. At almost 75 years of age, I am still deeply romantic at heart. Ganz liebe Grüße aus dem schönen British Columbia!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Your kind words humble this poet. When considering what I view in nature, the words flow. I put thoughts down as quickly as possible before they disappear. Your wonderful understanding and interpretation of my poem humble this writer. Much appreciated. Do you have much snow in BC now? Happy writing to you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Peter Klopp says:

        BC is a very large province with many climate regions. We live about 100 miles north of the US border between the Pacific and the Rocky Mountains. We often benefit from the so-called Hawaiian express that brings mild weather from the coast. We haven’t seen any snow yet, Mary Ann, to answer your question. I am looking forward to read more of your poems. Have a very pleasant weekend!

        Liked by 2 people

      • The Hawaiian express sounds like a Chinook wind – the kind we had off the Rocky Mountains in Colorado. Your kind words touch me deeply. I hold great faith in humanity. Enjoy the weekend as well.

        Liked by 2 people

  6. Tom says:

    That’s a beautiful poem!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

