Time for a Nap

Gentle, chinook breezes blow
as nature’s creatures are busy.
The humans are as well. Progress
has been made on the new bird house.

Some days, long lengths of grass
for nests hang as we note a beak
or two pulling the piece inside to
fashion a nest. It is a rare kind

of lovely weather we are enjoying.
The calendar is getting full of
appointments; businesses open again.
The cedar closet is brimming.

A visitor moth lay on our window
for a couple days posing for my camera.
After long delays and waits, movers
emptied the storage space.

New chapters added to the book
of life. Shall I tackle unpacking some
of the boxes or shall I simply take
some time to relax and smell our roses?

This entry was posted in birdhouse, chinook breezes, movers, nap, on smelling roses and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Time for a Nap

  1. Peter Klopp says:

    Brushstroke by brushstroke we are being painted on the canvas of life. This is my comment on your lovely post today, Mary Ann. Have a wonderful weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Peter, thank you for this wonderful comment from you. Brushstroke on canvas is a beautiful image. Hope your life is back to normal which I suspect it is given the low numbers of the Wuhan virus. We’re finally singing in church again which is great after such a long absence. May you have a awesome weekend with excellent weather. “”__””

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tom says:

    I enjoyed this. There is a peaceful ebb and flow to your poem. Your garden is looking good too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely post, Mary Ann.

    We will be going to church this Sunday for the first time since churches were closed. We will meet outside, but John promised there will be shelter from the sun. He and grandson David will be singing in the choir. It will be so good to see our church people again.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anne, thank you for the lovely comment. So happy to hear that you will be going to church again as well. We will be inside and singing in the choir. 25% of the congregation only or approximately 200. Everyone is happy to see the congregation indoors as well. Enjoy the weekend. I know you will! oxox

      Like

      • Won’t it be nice to start on the normal road again? Hope your weekend is great, too. oxox

        Liked by 1 person

      • Anne, thanks for your comment and question. The normal road will be another couple weeks at the minimum. While we sang to a reduced congregation, there were no hymnals for those present to sing the hymns and follow the prayers. Sigh. We normally have most people joining us in song. Maybe they did through masks. I, however, can not sing with a mask on so our choir only wore them for communion distribution. How did you fare? While it is a positive step forward, the experience leaves much to be desired. Have a great Sunday!

        Like

      • The wind was blowing, and every choir member lost at least one page of music, so our outdoor service was a bit of a scramble. We had printed bulletins for the service. We all knew the choral responses, but I would have loved music for the hymns. This was the first time we had communion, although we could have made an appointment for private communion during the lockdown. It was good to see familiar faces again. As you say, this is a step forward. We have much to look forward to. oxox

        Liked by 1 person

      • Anne, I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry about choir members losing music to the wind. At least I hope you did not sing with masks on. Masks are so hot and impede breath when singing. Next week for Father’s Day I will not be singing and can say I won’t miss it much given the circumstances. My husband and I sang for a funeral inside the church at the end of May. I hardly anticipated that I would get Communion just before singing so the entire time, the host remained in my mouth. This was when 10 people could gather so there really was no other time. Let’s compare notes in future weeks and hope everything improves. oxox

        Like

      • Choir members did not lose valuable music. I didn’t think how that would sound when I wrote it. They used scanned copies of hymns, since we were not using hymnbooks. None of them wore masks. What a tale that was about taking communion at a funeral!

        I’ll be interested in hearing how your next services go. I think next Sunday will be a repeat for us. We will have a house full of people, so we’ll see what works out. Some of us may watch a taped service.

        Liked by 1 person

      • What a tale of two church services. Our live stream services are on FB or archived on YouTube. In the small chapel, the sound system was adequate. From a distance and probably on someone’s iPhone, it initially had an echo and then was not adequate. Yesterday, it was live at 9 AM I think by early July, it’s back to a full church without all the extra rules. They even dismissed by rows and were told not to gather to talk but to go directly to the parking lot. Rather sterile but nonetheless, it was a start. I am impressed that you write music for the choir. How wonderful. Thanks again for the information. When will you be inside instead of outside? Enjoy the week.

        Like

      • What did I say that made it sound like I write music for the choir? I have no idea! No, I don’t write music. I always planned to write some descants for our choir, but I never got around to it. I also wanted to write something for a whistler. Our tenor could whistle beautifully. It would have been wonderful to have him do a descant on a congregational hymn. We went to his funeral in February. It’s a no go now!

        We don’t know when we will resume regular services. John thinks next Sunday will be like yesterday. Stumbling around on sloping, uneven ground was not good for us old folks. I found it difficult to get out of a folding chair that was leaning backwards.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Anne, I misunderstood your comment when you wrote :”I didn’t think how that would sound when I wrote it.” I assumed you wrote music when in fact you were speaking of how you “wrote” your comment to me. Silly me. A whistler in a piece of music would be a cool addition. Sitting in a folding chair leaning backwards would be difficult for anyone to get up! I hope that our church capacity increases to more than 25% and that all this distancing and mask wearing will be a past memory. Be safe and well and keep me posted about when you resume indoor services. I often wonder how earliest settlers did this worship before they had built church buildings?

        Like

      • Thank you for showing me that faulty sentence. I do that all the time, misleading people because I can’t see another way to interpret it. The earliest settlers were TOUGH!! Did they meet in homes? Even that would not be comfortable by our standards. oxox

        Liked by 1 person

      • Tough indeed, those first settlers. Cooking in the huge fireplaces in homes and sewing and reading by candlelight. Sounds romantic until you have to live it. We complain about power outages. oxox

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely, Mary Ann… Enjoy your weekend! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Emily says:

    Beautiful photos ❤️ Enjoy the new changes that are happening!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily, thank you. So happy you thought the photos are beautiful. Watching gardens grow and observing nature is calming to me. Finally back inside the church to sing this weekend. Have a great weekend. oxox

      Like

Leave a comment