The Mystery Rider

IMG_6841

Went to have the car serviced and
noticed this really cool motorcycle.
I thought “this is ME.” I should
test drive this beautiful machine!

20171020_095101_Burst01 - Copy300

As I sat on the big tricycle, I
thought I should buy it and take
some retirement trips to Long Island
and Colorado. What euphoria!

IMG_6803 (2)

Breaking forth for a brief
period of time, I relished the
moments of exhilaration and
freedom from being totally

out of character. Elated,
I phoned my husband about
buying this magical machine.
Oh, NO, he said. This is

11136137_360700614130977_8888694461326479759_o

what happens when you
have free time at the car
dealer and, instead of waiting
in their room, you climbed

on the motorcycle to give
it a spin! Hmm I thought:
I’ll just join a motorcycle
club instead. I can dream!

MR_2018_AE1_5262_preview

This entry was posted in car dealer, motorcycle, mystery, retirement travel, test drive and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Mystery Rider

  1. Arno Bode,Cologne,Germany says:

    Liebe Mary Ann,
    nur gut ,dass Russell so ein Vorhaben mit der nötigen Vernunft bewertet.Du kannst ja eine soche Fahrmaschine mal probeweise mieten.Viel Spaß.Solange noch solche Ideeen im Kopf sind ,ist man noch ” jung “.Ich träume auch noch mal mit einer Harley quer durch die USA zu fahren. Träume soll man sich erhalten. Alles Liebe und Gute ,Dein Arno , auch liebe Grüsse an Deinen Ehemann Russell.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Arno, we can always dream. The reality is, however, different than our dreams. I merely sat on this BIG tricycle as a whim of the moment. My husband informs me that the average age of Harley owners in the clubs is in the 60s. So people who did not have a Harley when they were younger are buying them now. My cousin John was in the Army in Germany for awhile and purchased a BMW motorcycle and he rode cross country. When he visited us in Pueblo, Colorado he mentioned that is back- side was sore from riding it for 1500 miles. I would think so. Dream on, Arno. Have a nice weekend and thank you for the comment.

      Like

  2. What fun to have exhilarating dreams and share them with us! I’m curious. Who took the photo?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Such an astute question, Anne. My husband did. I took poetic license in my story. I did not know, however, when he sent it, he used a Google photo program so that in just one year, I have had 71,000 views of the photo. It seems that whenever someone searched for a vehicle, I received views. I kid the dealer that I am waiting for my royalty check. I have remained incognito until now even though I wrote a slightly different story in which I was Mrs. Claus helping Santa and that was my sleigh! What fun indeed.

      Like

      • The whole story is even more fun! Thanks for sharing that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • It was one of those off-from-teaching days when I just put something on without paying much attention. Lo and behold I saw the vehicle and attempted to sit on it. My attempt resulted in side-saddle version since I could not swing the other leg over. Former students actually think it’s cool and wondered if I had purchased it. I did not. The fun lasted moments and now continues. Thank you for such a lovely comment and question to me! Enjoy the weekend.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Love it and sharing! ❤ Keep dreaming… xo

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Peter Klopp says:

    You two are a wonderful couple. You radiate joy and happiness. Have a great weekend! Peter

    Liked by 1 person

  5. balroop2013 says:

    Thanks for the smiles Mary Ann, and validating the power of dreams!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Libby Sommer says:

    great story. go girl 🙂 follow your dreams

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Annika Perry says:

    I’m smiling at your dreams!! 😀 There is something about being let loose in a car show room … the possibilities are infinite… an inner adventure spirit unleashed! Terrific photo of you on the bike … it does look ginormous! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha. I have to laugh about that photo. It is truly out of character for me, but then again, why not? Look closely and I only managed one leg and am sitting side saddle. I had fun doing it and little did I know when my husband shared the photo with me that it wound up on the dealership’s site and I am approaching 72,000 views in just one year. Amazing. Who looks at that? The inner adventure and imagination were let loose in those few seconds. That was a huge or ginormous vehicle. Have you ever tried one?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Annika Perry says:

        Wow! That’s a lot of views but I’m not surprised… it’s a great photo! I’ve sat astride big snowmobiles in a shop a couple of times … yep, the inner child took over for a few moments and I imagined myself out in the depths of winter!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Your amusing comment was clever, but, pray tell, where does one ride a snowmobile in the UK? I would think Sweden. There are many avid snowmobilers in northern NY and many accidents as well. Fantasy and imagination are the foundation of many stories and poems. We should allow that inner child to take over from time to time. Thank you, Annika, for reminding me about my inner child.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Annika Perry says:

        Haha! Yep, you guessed correctly – this was in Sweden! I would love to go the Far North and ride these for real, hopefully without an accident!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Snowmobiles are a popular machine in Northern NY and anywhere there is snow. The thrill of riding so fast over snow is appealing; however, I will just let my fantasy world dream this. In real life, I am a more calm type. Sigh. When you decide to do this, send photos!

        Like

  8. Clare Pooley says:

    I rather like the elegant side-saddle pose, Mary Ann! What a gorgeous machine! These tricycles are becoming very popular – I think they must be more stable than the two-wheel bikes on which I used to ride pillion in my youth. Oh, those were the days!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Emily says:

    Celebrity status! Love the photos especially the motorcycle one, always a favorite! Who knew this photo would have such an impact!

    Like

    • Much appreciated, Emily. Celebrity? Hmm – in the eye of the beholder perhaps. For a spur-of-the-moment photo, this has gone quite far with almost 72,000 views in one year. Amusing when you think of it. Thank you.

      Like

Leave a comment