Day of the Red Pen

IMG_3746

Morning alarm at 4 AM.
Walk the school track in
Pre-dawn moonlight.
Usually 3-4 miles and
plan for the day ahead.

20161220_163527

All alone or so I thought.
What was that approaching?
Oh, no! Mr. Skunk.  What do I do?
What if I am sprayed? I can’t
get back into the car.

What do I use to get
Eau de Skunk out?
I don’t carry tomato sauce
with me. Walk the mile
home again? Thoughts racing.

FullSizeRender (7)

Slow my pace then and let
Mr. Skunk cross the track.
Everything is fine for now.
Back home again. Wait.  Why
is that police car coming

at me now? I am driving
very slowly. Stop.  Roll down
the window. “Newspaper?”
What an odd question from
the officer. “No.  Teacher.”

“I walk before school.”
Pronounced in my best teacher voice.
Motioned me on. Rolled the window
back up. Breakfast at home.  Pick up
the lunch bag and grab the red pen.

I laughed all the way to school.
No two seconds are every alike
in the teaching profession. Apparently,
the same holds true for walking
in the wee hours of the morning.

18870909_10100133315646815_303554902_n

Note:  The author is a retired teacher who enjoys a sense of humor even in adverse circumstances and encounters with a skunk.

This entry was posted in education, red pen, Teaching, walking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Day of the Red Pen

  1. Emily says:

    Great story and photos! Loved the blog post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the chuckles. Love this one! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Arno Bode,cologne,Germany says:

    Liebe Mary Ann,
    amüsant von Deinen außergewöhnlichen Erlebnissen zu erfahren.Ganz ungewollt findet man zu einem Lächeln…
    Dir und Deiner Familie ein wünderschönes Pfingstwochenende.
    Alles Liebe und Gute
    Lilly und Arno

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lieber Arno, herzlichen Dank. Ja, Humor muss man im Leben haben. Mal was anderes von mir. Dir und Deiner Familie auch ein schönes Pfingstwochenende. Wir tragen etwas Rotes zur Kirche heute. Eure Mary Ann ^__^ ^__^

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That was fun. I love eventful, unusual walks.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bernard25 says:

    Bonjour ou mon bonsoir mon amie MARYA
    Je ne suis pas présent tous les jours

    Mais notre amitié est comme une fleur ou

    comme une orchidée ou celle-ci fleurit parfois

    Dans des endroits insoupçonnés

    Cette fleur il faut savoir la cultiver et en prendre soin

    Avec tendresse et patience

    Je te souhaite une belle journée ou soirée bisous

    de même pour tous les tiens

    Bernard bisous

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Annika Perry says:

    That’s one busy early morning…luckily I don’t encounter skunks or policeman on my walks, although once I was almost knocked over by a spooked muntjac! Wishing you many happy early morning walks…😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • My early morning walks before dawn ceased when I retired from teaching. Now my walks are in daylight where I meet and talk with neighbors and fellow walkers at the lake. We drive on the right and not the left so my encounter with that police car had me moving over and over to the far right of the street but it appeared he was going to hit me, so I stopped to find out what it was all about. Funny now but not then. Encountering nature’s creature’s is always interesting. Enjoy your walks as well. They seem to trigger creativity for me. ^__^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

