A Mother’s Day Prayer

18426603_10100126758721945_510043340_o

18058044_10100120857473095_7780456664124573090_n

Remind me to take joy in ordinary events:
Chores such as laundry, cooking and shopping.
Let me make time to listen to others and share.
There is so much joy to find in the little things.
Birds are busy building nests in our bird houses.
They too have to consider the location
to house their young as they attempt to
bring in brown leaves much too large for
the opening. They do not give up.
Daily walks through the garden yield new
buds, flowers emerging and lush greens.
There is great satisfaction in visiting with
others, singing in the choir, reading and more.
Let me this Mother’s Day with my family
be grateful for life’s abundance.
Let me find happiness with my lot in life.
Let me remember my mother and hers
and all mothers everywhere. Once a
mother, always a mother. Let me take
joy in the little ones who have their
lives ahead of them. Watch over my
family as they discover life and the
ordinary events. For isn’t that what
it is all about? I am grateful and happy.
Let them also be. Remind them to
always help others and find that joy!
May their hearts be filled with love.
From my heart to yours.
Amen.

P.S. Happy Birthday, Mom. Ich liebe Dich.

IMG_3622

IMG_3557

This entry was posted in a prayer, Mother's Day, mothers, ordinary events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Mother’s Day Prayer

  1. Amen… to such a lovely prayer. ❤ HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY, my friend! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Arno Bode,cologne,Germany says:

    Liebe Mary Ann,
    Ein wundervolles Gebet! Auch Dir wünschen wir einen glücklichen Muttertag.
    Ganz liebe Grüße aus Germany von
    Deiner Lilly und Deinem Arno

    Like

  3. Annika Perry says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you, Mary Ann and thank you for sharing this wonderful poem/prayer! Have a very special day surrounded by your family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

