Through the Eyes of Children

tom-1st-gr-koesingen-ger-schultuete0001

Through the Eyes of Children

Our son’s first grade class made several class field trips during our Fulbright year in Kösingen, Germany, home to Oscar Mayer.  It was not unusual for them to walk one mile or more while gathering and identifying leaves on trees.  One day our son came home to tell us the class went searching for Spuren or tracks left in the snow by all nature’s small creatures.  Having grown up in rural Western Massachusetts, I remember finding footprints and tracks on the snow.  I still continue to look out the windows after a new snowfall and see tracks of rabbits and squirrels.

turtles-theme-7th-bday-in-schweindorf-tom0001

How wonderful to discover such traces of life in an otherwise frosty snow-covered landscape. I imagine that most of suburbia takes no notice; however, I may be mistaken in that assumption.  It’s a marvel that creatures are out and about when mortals complain of the cold and snow and do not venture forth.  I never cease to gaze in amazement at sunsets or snow on the branches of fir trees.  In my mind’s eye, I paint pictures in my memory bank.  This season I wish all my readers everywhere greetings no matter what you celebrate.  Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.  Peace to all.

dh000018

Tracks/Spuren

Giddy first graders donned boots
and jackets to go outdoors after
the snowfall to discover and document
those footprints left behind by the

rabbits, squirrels and deer. They
documented in carefully written
journals those wonderful discoveries.
Bright-eyed and happy in the tiny

German village where Oscar Mayer
was born. Their teacher led the
field trip through the snow and
explained where the creatures

lived in the cold winter months.
Red-cheeked and happy,
the first graders returned home
after school to tell their parents.

Seeing life in a simple manner
through the eyes of children is
a wonderful way to view life.
Wishing everyone peace.

m-a-age-20003

This entry was posted in Christmas Traditions, customs in Germany, family love, family stories, Fulbright year, Germany, through the eyes of children, tracks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Through the Eyes of Children

  1. Emily says:

    Merry Christmas! Such adorable photos 🙂 loved the blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bun Karyudo says:

    Children do see the natural world in a different way from many adults. I think it has something to do with the sense of wonder that adults often seem to lose as they get older. Look for animal tracks in the snow sounds like a lot of fun. Perhaps, the occasional snowball might also have been involved when the adults were not looking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think adults too enjoy snowball fights. I agree on the sense of wonder and how some people lose it as they age. When I take long walks in nature or sit and gaze at the lake, I just allow myself to listen and watch nature and never cease to be amazed by it all. When I am too busy with life, I don’t notice that sense of wonder as much. As a language learner, I never cease to be amazed with listening to others as they speak with different accents or languages. For me, there is always something to be learned in life. I am not one to sit idly by. Whenever I watch British television, I love and laugh at some of the phrases and words different from our usages. So much to learn; so little time. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bun Karyudo says:

        I think many of us may feel the same way. During the hustle and bustle of daily life, we’re too busy responding to events to really look at the world around us. But then on the way home late at night, we may see the moon in the sky and think, “You know, that’s amazing!”

        Liked by 1 person

      • As we await the news of our daughter’s departing flight, heavy snow is falling. If all goes well, she will see the sunny skies of FL later on today. I must admit I am not out late at night but gaze at the sky from inside our home. We average 330 days of clouds per year so we don’t always get the clear skies at night. When we do see that BIG moon in the sky, it is indeed amazing. When all is said and done later tomorrow, we will have one or two feet of new snow on the ground. Snow removal is quite efficient where we live. Nonetheless, I am always happy I no longer have to be out in it! Even though just around the corner, I have to brace myself for a trip to the dentist and cleaning off the snow before driving back home. I am glad to keep my car inside the garage these days. The joys of our four seasons!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bun Karyudo says:

        I hope your daughter’s flight went smoothly. It sounds very snowy where you are. It’s funny how nowadays we can start a day in one climate and end it in a completely different one.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The flights went fine. I agree on the climates being different all in the span of a few hours. Many in Upstate flee to Florida for the winter. I am not one of them. The best in 2017 to you and yours.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Annika Perry says:

    After years of sticking children in the classrooms, the young in the UK now have an afternoon or more of what is known as ‘Forest School’, where they head out into a small part of the wilderness to explore. Always so educational, fun and a wonderful memorable experience. Lovely post, Mary Ann and I love watching for animal Spuren in the snow…alas very little of the latter. Wishing you a special, joyful and peaceful New Year. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bravo to UK schools for doing this as well. Too bad the US schools don’t do likewise. Snow is coming down heavy now so I’ll be looking for the animal Spuren tomorrow. Happy New Year to you and yours. May it be filled with joy and writing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. johncoyote says:

    In the end. The children will teach us what we forgot. I love your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Arno Bode,cologne ,Germany says:

    Liebe Mary Ann,
    eine herzlich geschriebene Geschichte.Wünschen wir uns nicht auch heute noch manches mal den Blick aus den Augen der Kindheit ?
    Deine liebevoll geschriebene Geschichte hat unser Herz erfreut.
    Alles Liebe und Gute
    Dein Arno

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment