Just Keep Playing!

15039690_593144980886538_3588601870365881633_o

Just Keep Playing!

Going with the flow of life this week, there was a unexpected turn. I was asked to play the piano for a Retreat at church.  Having encountered the tsunami query, a myriad of thoughts and ideas raced through my mind as I mulled over practicing and playing with as few mistakes as possible.  Ever my own worst critic, I bemoaned each wrong note played.  One of the first things learned when playing a music recital is to keep on going even if there was a mistake.  Just keep playing.  These words resonated in the back of my mind as I took a deep breath and giant leap of faith that my piano-playing hands would not fail me.  People would not notice I told myself.

It was a good that the Retreat spanned four week nights. Each day, I practiced and practiced hoping it would go well.  Judging by comments and reports, it did go well and my preparation and practiced paid off.  Whew!

One of my favorite quotes by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe came from his work Wilhelm Meister’s Apprenticeship and goes as follows:  “One ought, every day at least, to hear a little song, read a good poem, see a fine picture, and, if it were possible, so speak a few reasonable words.”

The photo which inspires today’s poem came from my talented niece Sally who lives in Costa Rica where she also posts the photos on her blog. Perhaps you will hear some melody when you see her photo as I frequently do.

15039456_593576907510012_4297282534350808883_o

The Language of the Spirit

Universal language, liquid art.
Mystical and magical alike.
Mankind’s sense of belonging.
Music brings peace and ends strife.

Trying to convey the feelings
which music affords is both
confounding and yet enlightening.
Where words fail, music begins.

Sweet, soothing, harmonious
and collectively touching one’s
soul. Our very essence and
reason for being. Just keep playing!

 

Note:  Thanks to Sally and her inspirational photos and blog Life in Costa Rica. http://rosedevi.blogspot.com/

 

This entry was posted in Goethe, music, playing piano, universal language and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Just Keep Playing!

  1. Annika Perry says:

    So happy the recital went well, Mary Ann.😀 When my son started playing keyboard the first thing he learnt from his lovely teacher was to always keep going, even if you make mistakes – advice that he’s followed diligently through many concerts. Such serene beautiful photos from your niece and finally to your poem in celebration of music. I love this, light, ethereal. The start of :

    ‘Universal language, liquid art.
    Mystical and magical alike.’

    Is so eloquent and moving.

    Wishing you a a lovely weekend….here a sunny crips cold day, couldn’t ask for more!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you for your kind words, Annika. I think all teachers tell that to their students when a recital is coming up. The photos my niece posts from Costa Rica inspire poetry. Of course, you know my love of music. Perfect combination this week. We too await lake effect snow this weekend and a big drop in temperatures. That’s ok with me. Enjoy your weekend as well. ^__^

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Emily says:

    Great post! I love the photos as well 🙂 very nicely written I am glad you had the opportunity to play at church! I am sure you did very well.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Arno Bode,cologne ,Germany says:

    Liebe Mary Ann,
    dein Streben nach Perfektion und deine anscheinend unerschöpflichen Inspirationen sind bewundernswerte Gaben die Du hast. Bleib aktiv für Glück und Zufriedenheit.
    Alles Liebe und Gute ,auch für deine Familie
    wünscht Dir
    Dein Arno

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Bun Karyudo says:

    I’m glad to hear the recital went well. It seems preparation and practice really do pay off in the end. 🙂

    Like

    • Sometimes practice pays off; you are correct. I remember one recital as a high school student when my teacher said it somehow seemed shorter than usual. Had I repeated a certain part? I had forgotten completely and was just so happy it was done and over with. So “just keep playing” paid off for everyone with a shorter piece to listen to. All these years later, I still recall her comment to me. What teachers say can be very powerful.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful photos!!☺👌

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

