What’s on the Other Side?

13248565_511371635730540_7400341199100712364_oIn our Sturbridge, Massachusetts home, my father built pine doors to close off the attic passageways. On rainy days, we often swung on the doors and played in the dark attic recesses. We created our own mysteries and ghost stories. Doors have often hinted at enigmas. They are invitations to discover and investigate what is on the other side.

When my niece Sally posted a photo of a magnificent old giant of a tree with a hollow to the other side at the base, my creative mind drafted stories and poems. In life, we speak of passages from the old to the new especially at graduation time. Today’s poem will reference a different type of passage from materialism to inner silence and meditation. When I seek quiet and refuge, I go for a walk by the lake. There I can listen and watch and discover what nature has in store for me.

13227792_510142505853453_5032855943294279335_o

Passages

How many times had I passed
the gentle giant and mighty tree
without seeing the aperture at the
base? Surrounded by lush, dense
tropical forests, the light beckoned
me to look closer. Hark, what is
this tiny gate in the middle?

An ingress? Egress? A premonition
of what might be on the other side?
What drew me here today? Shall I
sit and view the goings through
this postern? Ah, the mysteries
and secrets it holds. Shall I
linger by the river’s edge and listen?

Allow me to be with my inner
silence as I meditate nature’s
lovely mysteries. Today I shall
not pass by without seeing. Today
I shall listen, look and learn. Will
I then discern life’s inner meaning?
The ideas of transition and metamorphosis?

Life in Costa Rica blog:  http://rosedevi.blogspot.com/

This entry was posted in mysteries, passages,, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What’s on the Other Side?

  1. Lovely Mary Ann. Those portals do invite stories. I think creativity requires those solitary moments of noticing, especially in nature. Beautiful photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for you insightful comment. The photos are international in nature: from my niece in Costa Rica, a dear friend in Germany and a few of mine along our lake in Upstate New York. I love escaping to nature to allow my creative mind to wander through mental poems for my blogs. Your comment is much appreciated. Enjoy the weekend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Annika Perry says:

    Mary Ann, this is a wonderful poem, full of peace, meditation, reflection. The questions work so well, causing us the reader to ponder along, to consider, wonder. Excellent post and full of solace. Like you, I go for long walks wherever I am to ‘sort’ my soul – on the moors in Yorkshire, along the coast near home, in the forest in Sweden.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your thoughtful comment is much appreciated. You understood the essence of my poem. Seeking solace wherever one can is so necessary for the creative person I think. I have only seen movies of the moors and think it would be so beneficial to walk there or along the coast or in the Swedish forest. So many sights and wonders to behold in nature. Have a good weekend. Happy writing to you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Arno Bode,cologne,Germany says:

    Liebe Mary Ann,
    faszinierender Beitrag in Deinem Blog.Es ist bemerkenswert wie die Eindrücke der Natur Dir Schaffenskraft für Deine schriftstellerische Arbeit verleihen.Genieße jeden Augenblick in freier Natur und nutze Dein kreatives Können um viele weitere Beiträge zu veröffentlchen.Ich freue mich darauf.
    Liebe Grüße
    Dein Arno

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tom says:

    This is one of my favorite poems. Splendid.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Tom. I appreciate your insightful comment. Sometimes the photos Sally posts from Costa Rica truly inspire my creative side. For a very different one with humor, try the latest blog post about the Adventuresome Suitcase. It’s always gratifying for me to know my poetry has evoked such responses. A good week to you. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

