April Showers Bring May Flowers

In Massachusetts when we couldn’t go outside to play in Sturbridge because of the rain, our mother uttered “April showers bring May flowers.” There was always hope that the rains would cease, and sun would return to hasten flowers and trees to blossom. It is true in Upstate New York as well, even though we have snow in the forecast on Sunday. People around us in the area simply remark that we live in Central New York after all. I dedicate this blog to my mother whose birthday was May 14. Happy Birthday, Mom, and Mary Elizabeth Mooney Niemczura! We miss and love you.

Promises

Dark clouds billowed on high.
Rolling in a stormy rage, the
winds whipped up. Snow on
Sunday? It’s May! Spring had

made us promises with tree
buds, flowering trees and
bushes. Is this Mother Nature’s
cruel joke? Snow in May?

My eyes have delighted in
new flowers everywhere.
Prom dresses, corsages,
A myriad of colors and styles.

My steps seem lighter.
Birdsongs greet us.
So much promise.
Such varied beauty.

M A  age 20002

post-milestone-100-2x[1]

This entry was posted in April, family stories, flowers, May and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to April Showers Bring May Flowers

  1. A Milestone: 100 Posts! A cause for celebration. Thank you to all my readers and fellow bloggers.

    Like

  2. JC says:

    Beautiful pictures and sentiment…

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Arno Bode,cologne,Germany says:

    Liebe Mary Ann,
    eine wundervolle Hommage an Deine Mutter.Ein Beitrag ,der mit wohl gewählten Worten wieder das Herz berührt und Deine liebevolle Verbundenheit mit Deinen Eltern dokumentiert.
    Warmherzige Worte wecken Erinnerungen an eigene Lebensgeschehnisse.
    Alles liebe und Gute für zukünftige Beiträge.
    Dein Arno

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lieber Arno,
      herzlichen Dank für Deine sehr netten Worten. Positive und gute Erinnerungen habe ich von meinen Eltern. Gestern wieder ein bißchen Schnee hier. Es ist heute wie Herbst… 😦 Es wird aber bald warmes Wetter geben. Ich hoffe es mindestens. Ebenfalls alles liebe und Gute für Dich und Deine Familie. Deine Mary Ann 🙂

      Like

  4. Annika Perry says:

    First, Congratulations on your 100th post!!🎉 As you know I just celebrated my 100th and remember thinking I’d never manage to write that many. I look forward to reading the next 100!

    Mary Ann, I so enjoy reading this post and looking at the beautiful photographs. The birds look exotic and almost as if from the Southern hemisphere. Snow? In May? Did it settle? Are the plants ok? That is always a worry. May the real Spring arrive soon – and stay!

    Also, it’s always special to mark the birthdays of those no longer with us – my mother and I always meet for my grandparent’s birthdays, light a candle, talk about them and yes, even laugh. It brings them closer somehow. I am sure you feel the same.

    Liked by 5 people

    • Thank you for the congratulations. I love your tradition of lighting a candle and talking about deceased loved ones. The birds may be from my niece in Costa Rica, a tropical climate with two seasons: rainy and not rainy. Snow again this morning. The spring, real spring, will be here soon. I enjoy reading your blog as well. Just ordered the new Liturgical mystery called the Maestro Wore Mohair. I have about 4 others to finish before I get to this one. Reading them in order is helpful for character development. Enjoy your writing journey and week ahead. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Such beautiful photos to celebrate your mom. I could look at them over and over again. I truly appreciate how you’ve captured the beauty of nature. 🌿Congratulations on your 100th post. 🌟

    Liked by 4 people

    • Thank you so much for such kind words. Nature inspires me as I am certain it does others. My mother was a very creative person both with music, words, writing and sewing. She was an avid reader as well. I have inherited some of those genes. My good fortune. Thank you for such a thoughtful comment. 100 posts just flew by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Iriz Chan says:

    Happy blogging! Cheers to your 100 posts! A Mother is one of the great memories we could reminisce. Great photos by the way! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  7. reocochran says:

    Mary Ann, I truly wish you a happy 100 posts. I wish I had been along for the first ones but intend to see you through to the next anniversary. Happy Birthday memories, including such a precious mother and daughter moment by the bread sign on the store. ❤ ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • What a lovely comment from you. Much appreciated. I love viewing the vintage photos in a small town in Western Massachusetts. And out clothes are special as well. A sign of the times. Thank you for stopping by and for following my journey towards the next 100 posts! Happy writing to you. 🙂

      Like

  8. Bun Karyudo says:

    Snow in May does seem like a cruel joke! That’s a nice picture of your mother, by the way. When I looked at the enlarged version, I noticed she had such pretty eyes. (And congratulations on your 100th post!) 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for the congratulations! I love that photo of my mother taken for her high school yearbook when she graduated at age 16. She had beautiful blue eyes and strawberry blonde hair. I always told her she was the most beautiful one in her class. She always scoffed and said she was a “plain Jane” and that comment was with regards to her hair. I always liked her style and not the others with their plastered-to-their-head waves which were all the rage. She was such a classy lady and very smart. I miss talking with her. When she died, I took with me a book she had mentioned she was re-reading: The Road Less Traveled by M. Scott Peck. She was an avid reader and wrote beautiful poetry and prose on her old fashioned typewriter. I miss her. And yes, we had about 3 days of snow but nothing here remained on the ground. We brought the plants indoors again. It’s bright a sunny today to make up for the previous few days. Happy writing to you. I do so enjoy your pieces. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bun Karyudo says:

        It sounds like your mother was very accomplished but also rather modest about it. That’s the best combination, I think. If she could type on one of those old typewriters, she must also have had powerful fingers! My mother had one when I was a boy, but even typing out things the two-fingered method, which was all I could do in those days, was a grueling physical challenge. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • For piano players, like my mother and all four of us, it was a great way to strengthen the fingers and hands. She was also a sewing artist so you see that her hands were engaged in intricate work. You are correct that she was modest. Like her mother, she could bake the best pies. Her pie crusts were light and flaky. When our son needed to learn keyboarding skills in 4th grade, he came home complaining that he hated the class and could only type nine words per minute. I made the same kind of chart for him that I had with a typing class in 9th grade and put it above the computer monitor. It was a replica of the keyboard. I told him that it was like playing the piano and just took practice. In the beginning I told him to simply look at the chart and practice typing the alphabet. Later he tried entire texts looking only at them and not at his fingers. He soon stopped complaining and a few weeks later had a big grin on his face when he proudly announced that he could type faster than the teacher! 70+ words per minute. Do you still type with two fingers? There are online programs to teach yourself keyboarding skills. Just imagine how much humor you could produce typing with all your fingers! You’ll be the whiz kid!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bun Karyudo says:

        That sounds like a good way of teaching your son to type. I wish I’d learned at his age. I was well into my thirties before I picked up the skill. Thank goodness I did, though. I’d hate having to blog relying solely on the old “hunt and peck” method I used as a teenager. I’m not super fast, but I type so often these days, I’ve at least improved a little. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • It is never too late to learn, and I am glad you no longer type with just two fingers. I remember typing a message while one of my classes worked on something, and one student remarked that I typed so fast. I think I do and can almost type as fast as I am thinking the words. I credit my piano playing hands as well as typing my own Ph.D. dissertation and book manuscript. Editing is a large portion of writing these days. I believe I will next edit and publish two of my father’s travel journals which should, in my humble opinion, have a wider audience than a few family members. We all benefit from your faster typing too. So do I call you Bun or Bun Karyudo? Have a great and creative weekend, 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

