The Scrubs Are Just a Cover!

 

 

IMG_1818

Last week we were graced with a visit from our traveling nurse daughter who wanted to help celebrate Mother’s Day early. As we visited, talked and caught up with her life and doings, I was most impressed with her quick wit, her patience and caring attitude. We started to share some one liners when she quipped the zinger which became the poem’s title. May all the mothers everywhere have a wonderful Mother’s Day showered with lots of love and shared family times together.

 

The Scrubs Are Just a Cover!

Working night shifts at a
local hospital, the nurse slept
days until a neighbor pushed
the door buzzer several times
and pounded on the door to
get an answer. Yes? the nurse asked.

The woman said she thought
she heard loud music from
the apartment and wondered
if the nurse might be playing it. No.
Further explanations and
questions followed: I notice

your car is here during the
day. Do you work nights?
Yes. At the hospital I notice your
license plate says New York. Did you
just move here? Yes. Wonder why
some people ask so many nosy

questions? Maybe the nurse could
have said that she worked as
an exotic dancer or was a lady of
the night. Perhaps the nurse could
have added to this need-to-know-all
neighbor: the scrubs are just a cover!

This entry was posted in love, Mother's Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Scrubs Are Just a Cover!

  1. Annika Perry says:

    Such a lovely Mother’s Day for you, Mary Ann and what a beautiful, kind and warm-hearted daughter. Love the poem! We had Mother’s Day in March (far too early in my mind!) and I was sweetly spoilt by my son – and husband.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great pictures! Lovely poetry also. Very enjoyable. Am glad you and your daughter had some nice time together too.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Emily Nemecek says:

    Love it!! Great post 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Iriz Chan says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you! Seems you had a great day. Nice photos! 🙂

    By the way, I also pass by to let you to know that I nominated you for the 2016 Liebster Award! I’ll be glad to know if you accept it. All the best! You can see it here —> http://www.irizchan.com/blog/2016/05/liebster-award-2016/ 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’m glad you had such a good time with your daughter. The nurse in the poem could also have hinted darkly about secret spy work or a reconnaissance mission for the alien invasion fleet.

    Like

    • How clever of you! There might be a myriad of interpretations to this. I am unsure if everyone caught the intended humor. You certainly did and then some. It takes a sense of humor even for dark spy work. 🙂 Thank you for the comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I like music and enjoy singing, but I don’t have a particularly good voice. I always wanted to play an instrument when I was a child, but it was difficult and expensive to get lessons so I never did. I took up the guitar when I was about 20 and have played it off and on ever since, but just for fun so I’m not very skilled at that either.

    I think my feelings about math may border on a phobia. It may sound silly, but I missed a few of weeks of elementary school as a child through illness at the very time when the rest of the class first started learning math. When I returned to school, everybody was doing something I didn’t understand.

    Up to that point, whenever the teacher had called on me for answers during other types of lesson, I’d usually been able to provide them. Suddenly there I was in front of the whole class of sniggering children and I didn’t even understand the question! I don’t think I ever recovered. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You use math in your music as well, and it is for enjoyment. When I had our two young children with me during our Fulbright years, it was interesting to see the different approaches to math. In Berlin, our son’s math teacher in fifth grade was also the school Principal since Principals teach a couple classes. He inquired how our son had learned division, and I proceeded to show him. Once he understood the differences albeit very slight, our son did fine. Teaching math is in my opinion an art form. Children respond differently to the same teacher. When our daughter struggled, I found a math tutor who related the math concepts to her so that she understood. Part of her problem is how she learned her numbers in German as opposed to English. In German, one might say five and twenty for twenty five. She became our English major in college. Our son was a finance and business major in college. Children can be very cruel to other children. It is up to the adult to stop that behavior. It galls me when such cruel behavior is allowed to persist. Man’s inhumanity to man. I trust you are really better on the guitar than you lead others to believe. Music is food for the soul and is so relaxing. I am glad you found and learned that instrument. Thank you for your kind and insightful comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. reocochran says:

    A stripper or other kind of exotic dancer but the “Scrubs” are just a cover. So funny and glad you had a marvelous Mother’s Day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The punch line and title of the blog are from our daughter who has a quick wit and great sense of humor. I can detect her English major shining through. Today she is an RN like her grandmother. She uses her wit with her patients as well. I am convinced that a daily dose of humor is what we all need. I hope you stop by again for a visit. Meanwhile, happy writing to you. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

